Important Messages

  • 07/25/2014
    Caution with Vertical Clearances

    The Canadian Hydrographic Service (CHS) would like to inform you that the vertical clearances on charts and equivalent BSB 1313, 1314, 4026, 4275, 2250, 2283-1, 2283-2, 4266, 4201 are inaccurate. Caution. Notices to Shipping have been issued. Notices to Mariners will be issued in the next edition.
  • 04/29/2014
    Service Interruptions

    Fisheries and Oceans Canada will be performing maintenance to its network infrastructure from Friday May 9th at 5:00PM EST until Monday May 12th 8:00AM EST. During this work, access to some of our internet sites may not be available. We apologize for any inconvenience that this outage may cause.
  • 04/11/2014
    Protecting your Private Information

    Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO) is committed to protecting the confidentiality of our clients' personal information on DFO online applications. The Department acted promptly upon learning about the security issues associated with the Heartbleed Bug. Departmental systems using the affected application have been identified, patched and updated. To further minimize the risks related to this bug, clients using DFO applications may be prompted to change their passwords in the coming days.
  • 11/25/2013
    Explanatory Note Regarding the Practice of CHS on the Communication of Hazards to Navigation

    CHS may receive new information pertaining to navigation from various sources. All information is assessed to evaluate its quality and determine if it is a potential hazard to navigation.
  • 11/19/2013
    Contribute with your experience

    The International Hydrographic Organisation would like to learn about the needs of users of information about currents, tidal flow and river flow. They have an online User Requirements Survey Questionnaire.
  • 05/02/2013
    Low Water Levels on the Great Lakes

    Water levels in the Great Lakes are below their all-time averages and below last year's levels . The water levels are below the level of Chart Datum for Lake Superior (-0.3 metres), and Lakes Michigan and Huron (-0.4 metres).

    Below average water levels in the Great Lakes are expected to continue into the summer months, according to the forecast prepared by Environment Canada and the United States Army Corps of Engineers. Mariners should exercise extreme caution while navigating in the Great Lakes, especially during periods of strong winds when water levels can rise or fall significantly very quickly.

    Consult Sailing Directions booklet CEN 300 - General Information, Great Lakes for more information on water levels and for a list of voice-announcing water level gauges in the Great Lakes area visit the website: http://www.waterlevels.gc.ca/C&A/tidal_e.html

  • 02/21/2013
    Eliminating Canada – U.S. ENC Overlaps in the Great Lakes

    To comply with internationally agreed practices, Canada and the United States of America have agreed to eliminate overlapping coverage of Electronic Navigation Charts (ENCs).
  • 02/15/2013
    BSB Raster Chart Registration Status

    15-Feb-2013: The maintenance to the BSB raster chart registration server is now complete. Should you experience any difficulties registering your charts, or if you have any questions, please contact us at chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca .
  • 02/05/2013
    The BSB Registration service may be interrupted, from February 6 to 15, 2013

    As a result of a server maintenance, the BSB registration system may be only sporadically available from February 6 to 15, 2013. It is anticipated that the system will resume normal service on February 16, 2013. For any question or concerns, please contact chsinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca or 1-866-546-3613.
  • 11/16/2012
    Eliminating Canada - U.S. ENC Overlaps

    To comply with internationally agreed practices, Canada and the United States have agreed to eliminate overlapping coverage of Electronic Navigation Charts (ENCs). The first area affected by the changes includes Juan de Fuca Stait, Haro Strait and Boundary Pass, was implemented December 15, 2011. Canada and the United States will continue to resolve ENC overlaps in the Pacific, Atlantic and Great Lakes regions. This new ENC coverage scheme will result in each country changing their areas of coverage, so that only one country's ENC would be available for any given area at a particular scale.
  • 10/31/2012
    Termination of Tracings Production and Distribution

    On December 31, 2012, CHS will no longer produce and distribute Tracings and the associated website section will be closed. As the result of the improved chart production and maintenance processes, CHS no longer needs to produce Tracings to update its charts, so it will no longer be distributing them.
  • 06/29/2012
    Low Water Levels in the St. Lawrence: Recreational Boaters and Mariners Are Urged to Use Caution

    Fisheries and Oceans Canada has issued a public advisory warning that water levels are lower than average in the Port of Montréal and in the Deux Montagnes lake. For the sector between Montréal and Varennes, water levels are below chart datum.

Messages Importants

  • 07/25/2014
    Prudence avec les hauteurs libres

    Le Service hydrographique du Canada (SHC) aimerait vous faire savoir que les hauteurs libres sur les cartes et équivalents BSB 1313, 1314, 4026, 4275 2250 2283-1, 2283-2, 4266, , 4201 sont erronées. Prudence. Les Avis à la navigation seront publiés sous peu. Les Avis aux navigateurs seront publiés dans la prochaine édition.
  • 07/23/2014
    Les cartes hydrographiques pourraient faire face à des retards de livraison

    Les cartes hydrographiques du Service Hydrographique du Canada (SHC) pourraient faire face à des retards de livraison. Nous espérons que ces retards seront résolus d'ici le vendredi 1 août 2014.
  • 04/29/2014
    Interruption de service

    Pêches et Océans Canada effectuera des travaux de maintenance sur son infrastructure de réseau de vendredi le 9 mai dès 17:00 au lundi 12 mai 8 :00, heure avancée de l'est. Pendant la durée des travaux, l'accès à certains de nos sites Internet pourrait ne pas être disponible. Nous nous excusons pour tout inconvénient que cette panne pourrait occasionner.
  • 04/11/2014
    Protéger vos renseignements personnels

    Pêches et Océans Canada a à coeur la protection de la confidentialité des renseignements personnels de ses clients lorsqu'ils utilisent ses applications en ligne. Le Ministère a pris des mesures rapidement après avoir pris connaissance des enjeux en matière de sécurité en lien avec le bogue Heartbleed. Les systèmes ministériels utilisant l'application visée ont été cernés, corrigés et mis à jour. Pour réduire encore davantage les risques en lien avec ce bogue, il se peut qu'on demande aux utilisateurs des applications du Ministère de changer leur mot de passe au cours des prochains jours.
  • 11/25/2013
    Note explicative concernant la pratique du SHC en matière de communication de dangers à la navigation

    Le SHC reçoit des informations relatives à la navigation à partir de diverses sources. Toutes les informations sont vérifiées afin d'évaluer leur qualité et déterminer s'il y a un danger potentiel pour la navigation.
  • 11/19/2013
    Partagez votre expérience

    L'Organisation hydrographique internationale aimerait connaître les besoins des utilisateurs des informations sur les courants, les courants de marée et les courants fluviaux. L'organisme a rédigé un questionnaire.
  • 05/02/2013
    Faibles niveaux d'eau dans les Grands Lacs

    Les niveaux d'eau de l'ensemble des Grands Lacs sont inférieurs à la moyenne historique et aux niveaux de l'année dernière. Les niveaux d'eau sont inférieurs au niveau de référence des cartes marines du lac Supérieur (-0,3 mètre) et des lacs Michigan et Huron (-0.4 mètre).

    On s'attend à ce que les niveaux d'eau de l'ensemble des Grands Lacs demeurent inférieurs à la moyenne pendant tout l'été, selon les prédictions préparées par Environnement Canada et le United States Army Corps of Engineers. Les navigateurs devraient faire preuve d'une très grande prudence en naviguant dans les Grands Lacs, et tout particulièrement durant les périodes de vents forts, lorsque les niveaux d'eau peuvent monter ou descendre considérablement en très peu de temps.

    Consultez le livret d'instructions nautiques CEN 300 – Renseignements généraux, Grands Lacs pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les niveaux d'eau. Si vous voulez obtenir une liste des limnimètres à message enregistré, visitez le site Web suivant : http://www.waterlevels.gc.ca/C&A/tidal_f.html

  • 02/21/2013
    Élimination du chevauchement des CÉN Canada - États-Unis dans les Grands Lacs

    En vue de se conformer aux pratiques convenues, le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique ont accepté d'éliminer le chevauchement des zones de couverture des cartes électroniques de navigation (CEN).
  • 02/15/2013
    Mise à jour sur l'enregistrement des cartes matricielles BSB

    15 février 2013: La maintenance du serveur reliée à l'enregistrement des cartes BSB est maintenant complétée. Si vous éprouvez des difficultés pour l'enregistrement de vos cartes BSB, ou pour toute autre question, veuillez communiquer avec nous au schinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca .
  • 02/05/2013
    Le service d'enregistrement des cartes BSB sera peut être interrompu, du 6 au 15 février 2013.

    Étant donné qu'il y aura un service de maintenance sur les serveurs, le système d'enregistrement sera sporadiquement disponible entre le 6 et le 15 février 2013. Nous anticipons que le système soit de retour à la normale le 16 février 2013. Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avecshcinfo@dfo-mpo.gc.ca ou au 1-866-546-3613 .
  • 11/16/2012
    Élimination du chevauchement des CÉN Canada - États-Unis

    En vue de se conformer aux pratiques convenues, le Canada et les États-Unis d'Amérique ont convenu d'éliminer la couverture chevauchante des cartes électroniques de navigation (CÉN). La première zone où ces changements ont été appliqués, Juan de Fuca Strait, Haro Strait et Boundary Pass, a été déployée le 15 décembre 2011. Les États-Unis d'Amérique et le Canada poursuivront l'élimination des chevauchements de CÉN dans les zones du Pacifique, de l'Atlantique et des Grands Lacs. En raison de ce nouveau dispositif de couverture de CÉN, les pays concernés devront modifier leur zone de couverture de manière à ce que les diverses zones ne soient couvertes que par une seule CÉN à une échelle donnée.
  • 10/31/2012
    Fin de la production et de la distribution de Tracés

    Le SHC arrêtera de produire et de distribuer des Tracés le 31 décembre 2012 et cette section du site sera fermée. Grâce aux améliorations apportées aux processus de production et d'entretien des cartes, le SHC n'a plus besoin de créer de tracés pour mettre à jour ses cartes; en conséquence de quoi il ne pourra plus les distribuer.
  • 06/29/2012
    Bas niveaux d'eau dans le Saint-Laurent : les plaisanciers et les navigateurs commerciaux sont invités à la prudence

    Pêches et Océans Canada signale que les niveaux d'eau dans le port de Montréal et dans le lac des Deux Montagnes sont plus bas que la normale. Pour le secteur de Montréal à Varennes, les niveaux d'eau sont en dessous du zéro des cartes.